The Positive Conundrum

coverSo I’ve been digesting something.

Not literally. I mean, I’ve been digesting my supper for the last two hours or so. But that’s not the point.

I’ve been mentally digesting something.

I was accepted at Campbell University, a wonderful Christian school in Buies Creek near Wilson, along with a generous scholarship. It would be an honor to attend CU; two of my favorite teachers went there. I have been considering our community college, the College of the Albemarle. The Manteo campus is two minutes away from our house as opposed to the three hours that Buies Creek is.

Before getting into the full swing of this entry, here’s a bit of background. The mascot of Campbell is a camel and the Albemarle is a sound (a broad channel between an island and the mainland) near Roanoke Island. This knowledge will be important in moment.

I considered the pros and cons of each school for a quite a while, even before being accepted at Campbell. All the while, I was leaning towards COA.

A few weeks ago, I prayed that God would show me a sign concerning His will for my college path. I had been reading in 1 Chronicles 12 at the time.

I was specific in my prayer, saying, “If it’s Your will for me to start out at COA, let there be a mention of a body of water in a chapter of the Bible that I read sometime soon. If it’s Your will for me to start out at Campbell, let there be a mention of a camel instead.”

I started reading. Things were as usual. Then verse 15 came along, with the mention of Jordan River: a body of water. My jaw just about dropped and a huge smile came over my face. I continued reading, of course, but was thinking about my prayer, as well.

…And then came verse 40, with the mention of camels. My jaw dropped again, quite a bit further this time.

Now, I’m not big into just opening the Bible to a random page, pointing at a random verse, and expecting it to make a life decision for me or something. But I also don’t really believe in coincidences. The fact that this was the very next chapter in my Bible reading and the fact that I had just prayed for a sign makes me think: the Jordan River mention came before the camel mention. I took that as confirmation from God and as a sign to go to COA and then transfer directly to Campbell due to the order of the two words in that specific chapter. As in: COA first, Campbell second.

I think it’s interesting that the fact that I originally read this in The Message translation doesn’t change anything across other translations: they’re the words “Jordan River” and “camel” and you can’t translate those concepts much differently.

God knows my love for words. He gave it to me, after all. So the fact that He used the printed Word to speak to me makes sense.

The reason for the “huge smile” that came over my face when I saw “Jordan River” was partially due to being reminded of my prayer and partially due to the fact that I had been feeling all along that COA was my next step. Like I said, Campbell is a great school, but it’s bigger than my brother’s alma mater, Southeastern University, and whenever I visited that campus to see him, I would feel pretty overwhelmed. Sure, it’s no NC State, which has nearly 35,000 students, but it’s not a size I feel naturally or immediately at home in, either.

Now, granted, there are few high school students who go off to college who honestly feel completely comfortable with their new surroundings. No one has it all together when they leave home. I also realize that I could certainly get used to a university that large to the extent that it feels as small and community-like as Manteo. When I was being shown around my high school for the first time as a freshman, I felt like an ant backpacking across the Great Wall of China. Now, as a senior, I know the school like I know my own closet; sure, I might not know where everything is at any given time right off the top of my head, but I am very familiar with it and could easily give you directions (in my school, that is; my closet isn’t big enough to fit the second half of that analogy).

But when I would try to imagine myself living and studying in crowd of over 5,000 strangers so freshly out of my high school of roughly 450 students and my town of roughly 1,350 people, I did not feel at all comfortable. Hence the aforementioned smile. “Relief” is a good word to describe what I felt in that moment.

This doesn’t mean that I’ll always feel overwhelmed at the thought of a college campus that requires a carefully planned out aerobic exercise routine (or a car… or a bus ride…) to make my way from class to class in a timely manner. I know my strengths and I know my limits for my present self. I also know that I have plenty of room to grow. I may or may not be within shouting distance of my parents for the rest of my life, but for now, I will enjoy my time with them and my beautiful little town.

COA will help me get accustomed to college life gradually: I’ll have the educational rigor of college without having to make it on my own at the same time. Not only will have I have my parents and church supporting me, but I’ll also have the smaller class sizes. I work the best in situations with lower stimulus, so I’ll be getting in more towards the shallow, rather than the deep, end of the pool.

Another benefit is of course the financial side. The two years I spend earning my associate’s degree at COA are nearly a tenth of the cost of what my first two years of earning my bachelor’s would be at Campbell. I could very easily begin work on my major at Campbell debt free after having the exact same core classes for a fraction of the cost.

By now, I feel like I’m listing reasons to justify myself. These are simply all of the aspects I’ve been mulling over for a while now. I tend to (and often quite enjoy) analyzing things like this!

Thank you for following me through my ramblings. The past few months have been a bit of a conundrum, but in a good way.

Fun fact: Orange is my favorite color. Both Campbell and COA’s colors include orange. I didn’t even realize this until recently.

49 thoughts on “The Positive Conundrum

  1. Sarah, I applaud your decision (I am a follower of your Mom’s blog), no need to justify anything, my kids both started out at community colleges, they felt much more comfortable there plus you can’t beat the price, when my daughter transferred to a 4 year University she was awarded an $18,000.00 transfer scholarship for maintaining a 4.0 GPA….congratulations at being accepted at both colleges!!!

    • Thank you, Dale! I know I don’t have to be defensive about my choice, but I felt like I was giving a lot of information. Many readers from my mom’s blog have watched me grow up and so I wanted to make sure they could fully join in with my family and me in celebrating! :)
      Congratulations to your daughter!

  2. Congratulations on your decision Sarah! My daughter made a similar decision as yours, She had a school she wanted to attend, but just knew it was too big for her right out of high school. She attended a school in our home town hoping she would be ready for the big school when she attended grad school. I am pleased to report her plan worked, and she had a great first 4 years and is now attending that other school for her grad program. I am proud of you for following your heart and mind! Now enjoy the rest of your senior year as you have had the smile of relief, decision made! Good luck to you!

    • Thank you, Kathy! It’s great to hear of other’s successes, whether at two- or four-year colleges. Everyone’s journey through education is different and I’m glad your daughter has found what works for her!

  3. Your decision fits you perfectly and that is what matters most. You will be very happy in your choice. I love your analysis and reasoning for this choice. My brother, who has been an educator and even a superintendent of schools for many years, always told my girls (and his girls) that he is a firm believer that when a student “walks” on campus for the first time, they will feel at home or not. They will know it is the right location for their education and next chapter of their lives. Go with that feeling. It is correct. He is a very wise man as you are a very wise young woman. Congratulations. Perfect choice. Celebrate!

  4. Sarah – I was so excited to read this – I always knew that the little girl who fought so long and hard to stay here has great things in store for her. I know that one day I will be reading your book. Great decision on your school, fully backed by God. Congrats on getting accepted to both colleges – in the past 10 years I have felt that kids should go to a community college for the first 2 years as it fits the budget better plus it is basically what you are getting in the university. You have made your parents & yourself proud AND have gone on to prove that all of us are different and what doctors “thought and told your folks” would be limitations – you proved them all wrong. Again, Congratulations! Becky

  5. congratulations Sarah on being such a sensible young girl. I think there are a lot of kids today who would take the bigger school & find themselves overwhelmed in pretty short order. Our great nephew being one of them. You will do well in whatever you choose.

    • Thank you, Margie! I have taken an elective class all throughout high school called AVID, which is a class that helps prepare students for college. Teachers and Manteo High School alumni alike helped us understand that just like every person is different, every college is different and diving into a big school “just because” is really unwise. Of course, some people wouldn’t thrive at COA: it’s just too small.
      You really get to learn about diversity when it comes to college!

  6. Sarah, I think you made the perfect choice. I attended my community college for two years before transferring to a state college for the balance of my education. It was a perfect fit for me, as I was a little nervous being away from my family. The community college gave me the perfect chance to grow up a little more and saved a vast amount of money.

    Cindy from Sonoma

  7. Congrats Sarah on your decision. I might be just a little biased since I work at a community college. They are the best bang for your buck. I have seen many students come here who started at a large university and were so overwhelmed, they flunked out. They are much happier here than at a large school, because it fits them. My own daughter gave up an academic scholarship to a four year university to come to the community college where I work. Not because I worked here, but because it fit her nature better. You are a sensible young woman and I KNOW your mother and dad are happy to have you home for just a little longer. God bless you and much success in your life, you certainly deserve it!

  8. Sarah, it sounds like you have made a very thoughtful decision based on prayer and what you feel is best for you. I wish you every success!

  9. Sarah
    I loved reading your wonderful writing, and ‘hearing’ your sense of humor,
    and knowing how the Bible helped you make the “bestest” decision on which college to attend.
    I’m sure there are
    two parental folks and one furry friend who are quite excited!

  10. Beautifully expressed, Sarah. You write as someone who knows herself well, embracing strengths and aware of limitations. It is a well thought out plan–and I loved how God confirmed the path to take!

    I am so proud of you I could bust! :-)

    Love, Aunt Deb

  11. Oh Sarah, That is a great choice you have made. I went off to college only an hour away and I was very lonesome for my family, my house, my pets etc. Came home on weekends and it did get better, but oh my, if you can go right there and get it for a fraction of the cost and have your generals etc out of the way, how wonderful. How great for your parents too! What would they do with just Summer there? LOL Congratulations on your college choices! Wendy

  12. Yeah, Sarah!! Such peace floods us when decisions are finally made. And I applaud your sound decision-making process. The WORD is living and your story will highlight that for years to come as you share this testimony. Blessings, Precious Lady!

  13. I graduated from Campbell many years ago. I went to a smaller college my first year and transferred my second. It was smaller then than now but 2,500 students was huge to me as my hs class had 50 graduates and Wesleyan had 500 students when I was there. I think you are wise to go to COA first. I often recommended our cc to seniors due to expenses and more time to mature. God bless and have a great rest of your senior year. Love watching you grow. God has great plans for you.

    • Thank you, Mrs. Ann! I am looking forward to Campbell but am thankful for this opportunity to grow into adulthood a bit further before taking off.
      While at CU, did you happen to know someone named Ray King? He was one of the two of my favorite teachers I mentioned above who went to CU and I would think he’s around your age. His wife, Debbie (I don’t know her maiden name), was my other favorite CU-alumnus teacher! He taught History and English and she taught Bible, Science, Latin, and Math at my old school. They will always hold a fond place in my heart!

  14. Sarah, I thought that you navigated through all of these different aspects of college decision making with wisdom. I admire you for that because I think that you may have handled it better than I did. I am proud of you and I am ecstatic about your opportunity to study at the next level AND to meet more people. Those people around you are your greatest earthly resource.

    I love that you are comfortable being who you know you are. That is a rare gift that not everyone will receive in their life. Keep growing and stretching. I love you!

    • Thank you, Nathan! Your advice has been indispensable, including the conversation on the way home from The Hobbit. :) I am truly fortunate to have your gentle, wise voice in my life.
      Even if you feel like you might have rushed into SEU, just remember: you would have missed the opportunity to spend more time with Meagan. God redeems.
      I’ll make sure to keep ya’ll in the loop. I love you, too, dear brother!

  15. Sarah, like many here, I also did not go straight to a large school. In fact, I completed 3 years by commuting back and forth to this college and it was only the final year that I felt ‘ready’ to live away from home. Actually, now that I think about it, I completed my freshman year, then took a year off and worked, and then went back for the next 2 years (commuting) and then did my senior year on campus. I graduated very high honors with a Bachelor of Science with a major in Nursing.

    So, there are many ways to go about this.

    As an aside, I will share with you that I always felt that I was a year ahead in school than where I should have been.
    For instance, when I was in first grade I wished I was still in kindergarten. When I was in 3rd grade, I felt like I should have been in 2nd. This went on right up through high school. When I was graduating, I felt like I should have been a junior. My grades were all excellent, but emotionally, I was a year behind. It wasn’t until I took that year off in college that I finally felt like I was where I was supposed to be when I returned. Interesting, huh?
    I think you have made a wonderful decision and I am sure it is a relief to have a plan in place now. Congrats!

    • Thank you, Lesley! I have seen firsthand how different people mature and grow at different paces – and that’s alright! It would be boring if everyone were perfect adults by their 18th birthdays. I’m glad to hear that you were met with success in college!

  16. Congrats on your decision! Sounds like the PERFECT one for you! What an exciting time for you. The fact that you made the decision to continue is awesome. So many times kids graduate from HS, say “I am just going to work for a while and then go to college” and they never do go to college. So excited to continue on to you the next part of your journey!

  17. You are so wise and you are going to excel in your higher education. I’m also pretty sure your mom and dad and jumping for joy inside that you chose to stay close. You have such a great relationship with them. My advice is to take some of the money your saving and do a three week study abroad tour in the summer. It would take you out of your comfort zone but it would allow you the opportunity to serve in an area and meet some really great people. Or just take the extra money and go visit your nephew a few weeks in the summer as you will for sure mentor him over the years to come! Best of luck to you as you begin this new journey soon. You will do great.

  18. You are so amazing Sarah. The fact that you know yourself so well is a huge attribute that so many “kids” don’t have at your age. Well a lot of adults don’t know themselves so well either. :) I have no doubts that you made the right decision for you. And for your parents. Somehow I think it will be much easier on them if you stay close by for just a wee bit longer. :) On another note, my favorite college University of Texas has (burnt) orange as their color too. I didn’t go there but it has always been my favorite school and I would have loved to attend there if I had had the money. :) Keep being you Sarah. You will do wonderful things in your life. You already have!

    • Thank you, Lizz! My parents are indeed happy to keep me around a little longer. I’ll also be able to continue teaching Sunday School and helping with media at my church and watch the kids grow up. I love my community!
      I love UT’s shade of orange! :)

  19. Hi Sarah, I love it when the next step in your life becomes as clear as yours has. It sounds like you have made the perfect decision. I have been reading your Mum’s blog for so many years now and it is so wonderful to be able to read yours now as well.

    God Bless.

    From Bec who lives in Sydney, Australia.

    • Hi, Bec!
      I agree: it’s amazing to see the way God answers when we ask: so simple an action but one we sometimes skip!
      Thank you for your faithfulness to my mom’s blog. I’m going to try and post more, as well! :)

  20. What a terrific post! I am so impressed by your quiet, sure knowledge of yourself and your smart plans for the next phase of your education! This is a perfect way to step into this next phase, and you are so smart for doing it in a way that minimizes your debt! I can’t wait to see what happens next and where this path leads you – you are clearly on your way to a bright future!

    • Thank you, Nancy! I am thankful to have already done quite a bit of groundwork already in discovering my identity. I am looking forward to what’s coming next – whatever that may be!

  21. Dear Sarah,
    Thanks much for sharing the conumdrum with us all.
    I cannot help smiling at the messages your got reading the Bible! Maybe God was telling you how much He trusts your decision,whichever it is… and whether camels or bodies of water are involved… :-)
    I sure know your inner wisdom will always guide you well…
    Many blessings on your college path,
    Eva

    • Thank you, Eva!
      God did something similar for my mom the day after my dad proposed to her. She was reading her morning devotional and it was the verse about how a man leaves his parents’ house and is joined with his wife. God confirms things in miraculous ways!

  22. Hello Sarah! I found you by chance and am so encouraged reading your blog. God has such a gift for speaking to us in our soul language! Excited for you as you step out in the future!

    Love from your new friend,

    ~ Meg

    • Hi there, Meg! Thanks for stopping by with such encouraging words!
      I don’t understand how people can think God only spoke to His people during the Old Testament times. He speaks to us every day! :)

Your thoughts?